Tyler Morning Telegraph earns eight awards in Texas Press Association Better Newspaper Contest

Published on Sunday, 18 June 2017 15:22 - Written by Staff reports

The Tyler Morning Telegraph took home eight awards, including two first place honors, at the Texas Press Association Better Newspaper Contest.

The awards were announced at a weekend conference in Riudoso, N.M, in a contest that included entries from more than 100 newspapers competing in 10 divisions, in which newspapers compete against papers of similar size.

The Tyler Paper earned first place for feature photo and feature writing, second place for general excellence, third place in general column writing, best website and routine special section and fourth place for page design and sports photo.

The first place award in feature writing recognized the work of Roy Maynard for an article about the rescue efforts surrounding a sailor whose catamaran capsized on Lake Tyler, as well as the work of Jacque Hilburn-Simmons for her Mother's Day story about a family caring for special needs children.

The top honor in feature photo recognized the work of Chief Photographer Sarah Miller for a body of work that included photos of horses playing soccer at the 1836 Chuckwagon Races in Neches, the annual Rose Queen Coronation and Christmas festivities at Wayne D. Boshears Center for Exceptional Programs.

Miller's photoraphy work also was recognized with a fourth place win in the sports photo category for a portfolio that included action shots from Arp football, Bullard softball and a Tyler Junior College cheerleader being tossed into the air. 

The third place column writing award recognized columns written by Editor Allison Pollan and the third place routine special section recognized the work of the ETFinalScore sports staff for the annual Pigskin Preview magazine.

"Our primary objective is to bring our community news and information that is important to their lives, whether it's on our digital platforms or in our printed product," Pollan said. "It's always nice to be recognized by our peers for those efforts."